h1

Welcome to Pocho Saurus Mex

25 July 2008

I know the title is hit or miss. My siblings hate it, dismissed it out of hand. My good friend loved it, laughed and made me know I had to go with it.

So what’s this all about? I’m sure you’ve heard or been involved in a variant of this conversation:

So you’re Mexican?

– No.

Confused look. You can almost hear them think: But…look at you! 

You continue. -I was born here.

-But you’re Mexican.

-No. If I were Mexican, I would have been born there. My parents are from Mexico.

-So what do you have against Mexicans? Or: Oh, you’re ashamed of your roots? Or: Something about a “ranfla” (car)

Brings me to my point: There are many of us whose parents are from other countries. In the process of assimilation, we’re losing a bit of ourselves. Many of us give it up quietly, knowing that our life is a mixture – not quite Mexican, not quite American. We are something new and fresh and in-between. Some of us make a big racket about not “going down without a fight,” about not “selling out.” There are discussions of Raza and Aztlan and other myths and legends. 

I can see my parents and all that they’ve given up to be here. I see how they gave up their comfortable lives back in Mexico to be spat on in this country, be laughed at, work and finally make it. I am what they wanted to accomplish. My Spanish isn’t that great. I don’t want to take back any land from anyone. I don’t use the words “pachuco” “ranfla” “orale” (except when joking). Not a big chile fan. I love enchiladas. Not a Taco Bell customer. Thinking about not voting for Obama. Giving McCain a chance to prove himself. Always follow immigrant stories in the news. Not really “down” with the whole Chicano Movement thing.

If I were Asian, you’d probably call me a banana.

If I were Black, you’d call me an Oreo.

I guess I am your coconut.

 

Fuck it! Welcome to Pocho Saurus Mex.

4 comments

  1. I think the title works, especially with that sombrero wearing ‘saurus. Looking forward to your posts!


  2. ok I admit it is a catchy name. Good job on the page.


  3. nice intro buddy! A great first blog; its not too long, to the point, personal, and funny. Can’t wait to read more. Keep it up.


  4. Haha hmm, never thought of it that way, every time someone asks me i just say “I’m mexican” to end the conversation quickly and painlessly. Anyways, nice start, and I hope to see more of your posts 🙂



Leave a Reply

